DIY: lace shorts

6 Jun

If you are like me and are obsessed with Pinterest, you have probably been bombarded with images of run of the mill jean shorts made over with lace and transformed into an ultra-trendy version of the classic original.  The best part about these DIY bottoms is that they are totally unique to the owner.  I personally love the lace versions, but have also seen super cute shorts done up with patterned fabric as well.

Today I decided that my denim threads needed a little makeover and thus began my journey as a DIY-er {a summer goal of mine}.  Thankfully, my project was a success and I’m pumped to wear my new shorts.  Here is a step-by-step guide to lace-ifying jean shorts so you can make yours just as chic!  The whole process took about an hour.

1Materials: pencils or sharpie, scissors, needle, thread {I recommend white for lace}, sewing pins, jean shorts, and lace.  To go the cheaper route, look around your house for any lace fabric that you can cut into.  I was on my way to the craft store when I remember this heinous bride’s maid dress my mom once wore sitting in the garage just waiting to be torn up.

2. Measure: Cut a piece of lace slightly larger than the area of the short you want to cover.  Line up the lace with the jeans and use the sewing pins to attach the corners of the shorts to the lace.  Dot the outline with pencil or sharpie, and then take off the lace and cut out the outline.

3. Sew: After you cut the fabric, realign the lace to the shorts and pin it again.  Begin sewing, being careful to not sew the pocket together, or to interfere with the belt loops or the zipper.  I recommend decorating the left side of the shorts so that it will be on the underside of the zipper {aka not what I did}.

4. Refine: Cut any excess lace from the seams and then you’re done!

This also looks great on the back pockets of jeans!  Let me know what you think and how yours turn out by commenting below!

-kelsey-

3 Responses to “DIY: lace shorts”

  1. april tomerlin June 19, 2012 at 9:31 pm #

    Awesome idea thanks for sharing, way more inexpensive;) thanks

    • kelsey zimmerer August 1, 2012 at 2:46 pm #

      I’m glad you liked it! Thanks! :]

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. the sunday skinny « chit chat and a half - June 10, 2012

    […] way better than sitting in front of the TV all day watching re-runs. Check out Kelsey’s post on DIY shorts for more information about our DIY […]

Leave a Reply

